A different take on soul mates

Eat, Pray, Love is one of my favourite movies for many reasons. Reason number 1 is…well, Julia Roberts of course! I absolutely love her! She’s just one of those actors – if you see her name on the cast list, chances are that it’ll be a good movie, the same can be said for Denzel Washington, Matt Damon, Johnny Depp etc.

Anyhoo, if you watched the movie, you’ll know that one of the words she learns while in Italy is attraversiamo (let’s cross over). For some reason, this word popped into my head and I couldn’t remember what it meant, so I turned to my trusty friend Google who always has the answer and stumbled across this quote from the movie:

People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that is holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life.

A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake. But to live with a soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful. Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then leave.

A soul mate’s purpose is to shake you up, tear apart your ego a little bit, show you your obstacles and addictions, break your heart open so new light can get in, make you so desperate and out of control that you have to transform your life, then introduce you to your spiritual master…

– Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

I never really thought of a soul mate in this way and found it so profound. How interesting to consider that your soul mate could be the very person that challenges you, pushes your buttons even.

If I look back at situations and people who came into my life and disrupted the status quo, I can honestly say that I would not be the same without these people and the impact that they’ve had on me. I believe that everything happens for a reason – for us to learn and to grow. But to consider that the very peeps who grated my carrot (I love this saying!), could be one of my soul mates…wow!

It’s a truly liberating thought and makes it easier to let go of any negative feelings I may have towards the said carrot graters. I guess it’s similar to the idea that everyone we meet is a potential teacher, as is every situation we encounter.

Let me know what you think in the comment section below.

Love.

Tamara Metrowich

 

 

3 thoughts on “A different take on soul mates

  1. I still choose to believe that my husby is my soul mate, but we have moments where we seriously grate each other’s carrots (haha). We’ve torn down walls, rebuilt foundations and managed to weather it. After all I believe the conflict is what has cemented us, we’ve been in dark spaces on our own and together and worked our way back to the light- and found the other there with a cheer!
    R

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely share of this viewpoint. I think what is perhaps true is that everyone may have a different view of what a soulmate is; some may not even use that term; and some that feel there is such a thing may with continual life experiences, alter their views of what a soulmate is.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Millabout1. I agree, the term soul mate has quite an intimate meaning to some and to others, they may not quite recognise this term or have a different view point. I’ll be including more posts like this when I rebrand the blog. Please do keep an eye out. I’d love to read more of your comments on the new platform xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

